Putting An Infant In The Bed

Well I am the first in my family to have a child…my sister gave birth 6 weeks after me…and no one really told me what to expect or gave me a list of things not to do. So naturally I think I have done everything you shouldnt do and am paying big time. First let me start by saying when the doctor looks at you says..”you cant spoil an infant so hold her as much as she needs you to” run like heck the other way because your doctor is a nut case. I did exactly this and now my little girl cannot sit more than 5 min. by herself before she starts throwing a fit to be held. She is now three months old and I am finding it more and more difficult to do the little things that need to be done with her on my hip all the time. The second thing I did not realize is that once you put your baby in the bed with you…they never leave. Ady didnt like the crib when I first brought her home and she would cry the whole time I left her in it. I felt bad because the doctor said that the cry it out method is out dated and shouldnt be done…infants need to be cuddled. Well naturally I thought she was lonely and didnt like to be by herself so I started sleeping with her. This was a huge mistake…and again I say…if your doctor tell you this RUN! My reason for sharing my parenting mishaps is that I figure I am not the only one to start off rocky with a first child…I am really hoping that someone has some good advice or tips for getting my baby out of my bed and helping her be a self soother.

Leave a comment